Objects Stories

So, for the past two weeks we’ve had a task to go round, take photos and examine objects we see around Nottingham. I’ll be honest, I’ve not really been round the city much for this, since most of the time I’m more preoccupied with getting to the bus station (an hour’s bus ride either way) or getting to Uni on time since there’s rarely more than half an hour to spare when we arrive.

Anyway, on with the task, for which we were given these questions as a guide:

What is the object or surface?
What is the important feature that stands out for you?
What is it made of ?
What does it sound smell and feel like? (smell’s out since I don’t really have a sense of smell, and I wasn’t inclined to sniff most of them)
How is the object surface lit? Where is it situated? How does this add to the
textural quality of the object?
Is it transparent, luminous, refractive?

This is one of the bricks in the wall outside of Waverley. Not entirely sure what type of stone it is; I’m leaning towards sandstone with how it looks, but my geology’s a tad rusty. The erosion is certainly the part of it that stands out, with how it’s left the surface even (look at it sideways and squint a bit, and it kinda resembles a goofy face). It feels rough to the touch, with some parts being rougher than others – mostly the indents which are the most eroded. It’s situated outside, exposing it to the elements which has resulted in its uneven texture. It’s opaque, doesn’t glow in the dark (might be an idea if it did) and obviously has no refractive qualities.

The texture gets more interesting further on – here a large hole has been eroded. And the size of it is enough that something could shelter in there, most likely spiders and insects.

The floor in room 207. It’s smoothish (I’ve yet to skid on it, so it’s a little rough). The most noticeable thing about it is all the scuff marks since this type of floor is incredibly easy to mark – I should know, I can’t remember a single classroom at school with this kind of floor NOT having marks on it. It has a semi-glossy finish to it, so it noticeably reflects the light but not to the extent of a proper reflection. It’s opaque, although the top layer could be transparent, I’m not sure.

A tree in the Arboretum. Most of the trees tend to have fairly uniform bark, so this one practically jumped out when I walked past. It’s a bit hard to see in this picture, but the large… growths(?) on the side facing us looked almost like faces pushing out of the bark (a bit like Mother Willow in Pocahontas). Sadly the tree was on the other side of a fence, so I couldn’t reach over and feel the texture of it.

Sitting on a bench in the Arboretum and doing some sketches (the wildlife was a bit tricky to draw since they hardly stay still), I spotted this pine cone on the path in front of us – not that we could miss it, since the thing’s about the size of a can of lager. I can’t remember whether it has to be wet or dry to have them open up, but I’m leaning towards wet since it’s been raining recently. It’s amazing how much the individual flakes look like scales (there’s a species of… armadillo I think that has plates that look like this, but I’ve forgotten the name). On the underside there’s this white residue, which leads me to think that it’s been in the line of fire from the pigeons either before or after it fell from the tree. It probably fell of its own accord, but after seeing a couple of the squirrels going after one another it could have been knocked loose during one of the chases.

Toy Train

We were building a toy train on Friday, and I finished it off at home – we might have been asked for two images of the same scene but I did two different ones instead. Anyway, when we were told to put it somewhere which gave a story behind it an image flashed in my mind of it sitting in a shed. So here it’s sat on the floor next to a paint can, its owner having left it outside and the father put it away in the shed to keep it safe. But it’s soon forgotten, and it stays in the shed, hidden behind boxes, gathering dust. I’m surprised at how sad and lonely this image turned out.

This was the original render before I applied a bit of colour theory to it in Photoshop. Just shows how far colour goes towards creating mood and atmosphere.

Then in the texture zip file Roma provided I came across a picture of a train station. There was no way I wasn’t going to use it. Thanks to the wonders of layer effects, it was a simple case of changing the light outside from day to night and altering levels.

Late at night in the station, and suddenly a giant wooden train has pulled up at the platform! Any minute now that guy’s going to do a double take and think that maybe he shouldn’t have had that last two Vodka…

One thought on “Objects Stories

  1. I love your train renders, youve captured the lonely atmosphere really well. I especially like the train render at the top of this post. cool work.

Leave a Reply

