Creative Opportunity and GameCity

Last week Jools asked use to give an example of when knowing someone opened up a creative opportunity for us. This may be a sign of me not getting out much (considering who my peers are in my village, I think I can be forgiven for that), but it proved a lot more difficult then I thought.

I did think of one thought. Back when I started college I was showing my new friend Emily (she’s in the year above here at Uni) some of my art on a site called Media Miner (which to be frank is not the world’s greatest art site). She said I should join DeviantART and showed me her gallery there, after which she persuaded me to sign up. I can honestly say I haven’t looked back – it opened my eyes to a whole new world of artwork and spurred me on to seriously pursue art as a career.

I’m going to be attending a Games Design workshop with my sister at GameCity tomorrow from 2pm til 4pm, but we’re getting dropped off at one so we can have a look round before we go (they have Rock Band in the Square! Shame that the Zombie gathering is on while we’re at our SPP seminar). Shame we can’t really get down on Saturday, I would love to attend the BAFTA talk and see the LEGO build-a-thon. Today we managed to catch the end of a Mario Kart tournament, and see some guys being rather rowdy playing some kind of RTS (we can only assume it required voice commands). There was also a guy in an orange dog costume – which looked familiar but I can’t place it.

Leave a Reply

