Games Mind Map and Critique

Quick thing from Tuesday’s games seminar before I go into my SPP critique. We did a group brain storming session (note to the PC brigade – if you can think of a more apt term term than that for the the process then I by all means I’ll use that. But ‘mind mapping’ sounds plain daft) for a board game which I copied down. In the event of being unable to read my own writing I typed it up in a free app called FreeMind – a brilliant little program and incredibly intuitive – so I had a copy that I stood a chance of being able to decipher. I’ve uploaded a jpeg of it; feel free to save a copy if you either didn’t note it down or weren’t there.

boardgamemindmap

On to the SPP task, where we have to critique a piece of work. So I took a look at my watch list on deviantART and picked out a painting called Bound Destruction by Mythori (not sure what her real name is). I am a rather big fan of her work, so a bit of bias might creep in. Also the questions from the seminar are about as useful for critiquing paintings as a bar of soap is for sketching. Consider them disregarded.

This is first and foremost a tribute to the artist Todd Lockwood (who’s a brilliant artist himself). But obviously it’s at fantasy fans and fans of dragons in particular. There’s a looseness to the artist’s style, most noticeable with the background, that, along with its desaturated browns and greys, manages to convey the sense of desolation and decay of the ‘graveyard’ far more effectively that minute detail by just hinting at objects and debris in amongst the haze. The highest point of contrast is by the dragon’s head, drawing the viewer’s eye to it. There’s a slight issue with the Rule of Thirds though, as although the head is situated on on of the vertical third lines it’s below the high point of contrast meaning my eyes are actually fixating slightly above it instead of on it. However, in a nice bit of compositional placement the pipe or whatever it is (it’s not clear) leads the eye downwards, allowing the viewer to notice the small figure at the bottom and immediately telling us the sheer size of the beast.

Leave a Reply

