Another Client update

Quick memo to self before I begin: make sure the chair is properly positioned in front of the computer if you don’t want another late night crick in the neck. I’m going to be feeling that in the morning.

I was really drawing a blank for other cover variations since the last post, not to mention racking my brains as to what exactly do I send my client. The whole proposal would be a bit overkill, maybe just bullet-pointed sections – a proper write-up will be handed in on the actual deadline.

Anyway, whilst wandering around the Arboretum next to our main University building on Tuesday, we stopped by the large aviaries there. And they had a lot of Cockatiels in there – here’s a picture of one that was very happy to come over and pose for us:

And this trigger a small brainwave. Quetzacoal, the Feathered Serpent (bit of a leap, I know. I do it a lot). So I went on another moodboard making spree:

I knew I wanted someone in a mask, and I was thinking along the lines of shamans – I also admit to being influenced by Princess Mononoke. The simple sketch at the bottom, second from right, is actually one of mine from a few years ago. This brainwave was the push I needed to come back to it.

This one has the most variations, because the first one, as you’ll see, looks silly. The second one is good, but a bit dull. The third has the most life in it I think:

Obviously backgrounds need addressing, but that will come in the main bulk of creating these covers. One thing that you’ll see in my own notes on the second picture, is my indecision over the type of mask (which I copy-and-pasted from the second version to the third because it had taken me ages to decide on the look of it to begin with). Below is a comparison of the draconic and avian masks on version three:

Really not sure which is better.

Now, a software recommendation for you all: if like me you’re not entirely comfortable at drawing people (I’m more successful when drawing in a sketchbook than on a computer) and can’t get to life drawing classes, get hold of DAZ Studio. It basically lets you position a model (already rigged with limits) and light it, like so:

It’s free to download and they’ve made a whole bunch of models free just the other day. Now I just need to figure out how to get my hands on Poser’s Wooden Mannequin model…

Oh, and the thing that inspired my second cover concept? Turns out it was this:

My love for that art style must have made it take root in my subconscious (we still don’t know who that is yet). At least I won’t go mad from trying to figure out the source now.

One thought on “Another Client update

Leave a Reply

