YOU DO NOT REQUIRE TEA?

Ever since the first LEGO Star Wars game came out, I’ve been trying to make a 3D recreation of a LEGO minifig that has the same range of movement – bendable legs, arms, hands, that sort of thing. Then I found this custom LEGO model of a Dalek by Flickr user kaptainkobold. I thought “why not?” and with the help of the LDraw library (open source virtual LEGO pieces) made a virtual version.

The result was a homage to the Doctor wailing on a Dalek with a wrench in a recent episode:

The Daleks aren’t having much luck with serving tea, are they?

11 thoughts on “YOU DO NOT REQUIRE TEA?

    • I certainly can, but it depends on which 3D program you’re learning to rig in. I can rig in 3DS Max in my sleep, but I’m not up to scratch with either Maya or Blender.

      • Sorry to ask, but how long until you have a tutorial? I really need this and I haven’t found any help on other sites. (At least not pointed in the right direction)

        • I’m sorry, I’ve been really busy lately with looking for work and another 3D project, and I just haven’t had the time to make one. Knowing how annoyingly difficult it is to find good rigging tutorials online, though, I managed to find a tutorial on 3DTotal.com that uses an almost identical rigging process to my own, as well as one that explains the very basics. At the very least they should be able to give you something to work with.

          Basic Rigging
          Rigging 101

          Be prepared for things to go pear-shaped a lot; I have never made a rig where everything went right the first time.

          Best of luck.

          • Which one is similar to yours? I tried the Rigging 101 but that gives me the same result as I had (the wrong one) before. The ellebows don’t bend nice (like that in the games).

            • Yes, the Rigging 101 is the one that’s similar to my method.

              Your mention of the elbows makes me think that it’s not actually a rig problem you’re having, but a skinning one. The Skin modifier is one of those things where tutorials are useless after you know the basics and you just have to keep working at it, since each mesh will react differently to a rig thanks to how it’s been built. But in the meantime I also suggest using a smoothing modifer – I always have a TurboSmooth modifier set to “render iterations” above my skin modifier in order to iron out any weirdness in the model upon rendering.

              One more tip: make sure there’s a higher concentration of polygons around the joints. The more polygons, the better it will bend when you move the rig.

              I hope that helps.

      • i have a similar problem concerning lego rigging,
        i am using 3ds max design 2010, and have exported a lego minifigure from Ldraw via Win3d, and am having problems with the mesh bending smoothly as it keeps on making gaps in the mesh when i bend it using the bones, however i am not doing a full rig just dealing with the bones and warping first then i’ll get rigging.

        • Have you gone over the mesh to see if there are any holes and diagonal lines? One thing I learnt after I started importing LDraw parts is that the imported mesh is completely unsuitable for using with a rig – in order to make any use of it, you have to first merge all vertices and remove all the diagonal lines as triangular polygons don’t bend very well compared to four-sided ones, especially when smoothed.

          Also, I’ve found that adding a smooth modifier above the skin modifier helps to iron out any bumps in the mesh (I’d recommend setting it to “render iterations” only though as it can slow the program down to a crawl).

          • first, i got 3ds max 2011 ages ago, about april 29th something like that, second, i made a CAT rig in the same basic shape and it worked pretty well, for something automated, so its still not bending precisely as i would like, but not much i know how to do there. Tristan

Leave a Reply

